Skip to Main Content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Under the Clean Air Act, EPA is required to carry out a periodic review and revision, as appropriate, of the air quality criteria and the primary and secondary standards for six criteria air pollutants, which include oxides of nitrogen (NOx). EPA is currently reviewing the Primary National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for NOx. Primary standards set limits to protect public health, including the health of "sensitive" populations such as asthmatics, children, and the elderly. An early step in EPA’s process for reviewing the NAAQS is to develop an Integrated Review Plan (IRP) for reviewing the science associated with the NAAQS. EPA has requested that CASAC provide consultative advice on the IRP for the Primary NAAQS for NOx, Volume 2: Planning for the Review and the Integrated Science Assessment.

Aaron Yeow

On this page:

See EPA’s PDF page to learn more about PDF files.