Skip to Main Content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Under the Clean Air Act, EPA is required to carry out a periodic review and revision, as appropriate, of the air quality criteria and the primary and secondary standards for six criteria air pollutants, which include ozone. EPA is currently reviewing the Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS). Primary standards set limits to protect public health, including the health of "sensitive" populations such as asthmatics, children, and the elderly. Secondary standards set limits to protect public welfare, including protection against decreased visibility, damage to animals, crops, vegetation, and buildings.On October 10, 2018, Acting Administrator Andrew Wheeler announced ( that the seven-member Chartered CASAC will serve as the body to review the key scientific assessments for the Ozone NAAQS review.As part of the NAAQS review process, EPA's Office of Air and Radiation has requested CASAC advice on the Integrated Review Plan for the Review of the Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standards.

Aaron Yeow

On this page:

See EPA’s PDF page to learn more about PDF files.